NV NV, morefore NV

It’s a long and a dusty road
A hard and a heavy load
Some folks I meet ain’t always kind
Some are bad, some are good
Some have done the best they could
Some have tried to ease my troublin’ mind

And I can’t help but wonder where I’m bound, where I’m bound,
Can’t help but wonder where I’m bound.

Can”t Help but Wonder Where I’m Bound Lyrics by Tom Paxton

I look at my brown suitcase
An’ think of all the places where I’ve been
Railroad yards and prison guards ,
Dumpy little Towns along the stem.
An’ the whisperin’ of the people
as their watchin’ every move that I go through .
I remember all these things,
But mostly I remember lovin’ you
.

I Remember Lovin’ You Utah Phillips

My father hoped that I would be
A man of some renown.
But I am just a refugee
As I go ramblin’ round..

Ramblin’ Round Woody Guthrie

I’ve seen your towns, they’re all the same
The only difference is in a name
The only home I ever knowed
Was a suitcase and the open road
And it’s many a mile I’ve spent on this road
It’s many a mile I have gone
It’s many a mile I have gone

Many a Mile lyrics by Partick Sky

Its a little more than 50 years since since an unusual, unplanned, “diplomatic event” reported in the media as “Ping Pong Diplomacy” happened to dramatically alter relations between the USA and PRC.

In 1971 the US tennis team traveled to Nagoya,Japan for the World Table Tennis Championship .

On of the US players Glenn Cowan, a longhaired “hippie type” missed the bus taking the US team back from practice ,and boarded the Chinese team bus, One of the Chinese team, Zhuang Zedong approached Cowan to shake his hand and give him a Yellow Mountain silk weaving.

.When the bus arrived at the residence destination, journalists made a photo of them together .and the next day the US team received an official invitation to visit China. to play some exhibition matches.This event opened an important door for US-China relations and soon after Nixon visited China.

A link tothe details of this sotry: https://diplomacy.state.gov/ping-pong-diplomacy-historic-1971-u-s-table-tennis-trip-to-china/

While the Chinese team was definitely the “ world best” during the exhibition observers noted that there were times when it appeared they loosened up a little making the US team look good while on the wall hung a banner which read “Friendship First, Competition Second’—A few months later Nixon visited China.

When I was in university in middle 1960s , a friend Sammy Lau from Hong Kong, the best table tennis player at the school lost an important match to a player not really at his level, and I when I asked him about it, he replied “He is my friend, he needs some confidence in himself, there are times when losing is winning and this was such a time.”

SometimesI wonder do I need words or is just the image enough enough.

Gate gate paragate parasamgate bodhi svaha

Leave a comment